Making The American Dream Attainable

Deferred Action For Early Childhood Arrivals (DACA) Program

On Behalf of | Aug 7, 2014 | Immigration |

Recently, a Federal Court entered an injunction was halting the implementation of Obama’s new immigration policies, the first which was scheduled for February 18.  In light of this legal maneuvering by anti-immigration groups, USCIS is still accepting applications for initial requests and renewals under the current  DACA program which was established in 2012.  Therefore, anyone who qualifies according to the guidelines below, can still apply.

 The following tips are provided as a guide toward determining eligibility for this program, you may qualify under the following circumstances:

  1. Under age 31 on June 15, 2012;
  2. Arrived in the United States prior to age 16;
  3. Continuously resided in the U.S. since June 15, 2007, until present;
  4. Were physically present in the U.S. on June 15, 2012, and at the time of applying for DACA program;
  5. Entered without inspection before June 15, 2012, or your immigration status expired as of June 15, 2012;
  6. Currently attending school, have graduated or obtained a certificate of completion from high school, have obtained a general education development (GED) certificate, or are an honorably discharged veteran of the Coast Guard or Armed Forces of the United States; and
  7. Have not been convicted of a felony, significant misdemeanor, three or more other misdemeanors, and do not otherwise pose a threat to national security or public safety.You will be eligible for the following benefits if approved in the program:
  1. Work permits will be granted by showing economic necessity.  DHS indicates that this will not be extremely difficult to show in most circumstances.
  2.  DACA recipients can apply for drivers licenses which is valid through the time period of the DACA approval
  1. Social security numbers will be available for those showing DACA approval
  2. Educational programs will accept DACA recipients
  3. Travel may be granted for certain DACA recipients upon showing that travel is needed for humanitarian, educational or employment purposes.  This is a separate request that must be completed following the deferred action grant.